North Sydney Olympic Pool reopened on 7 August, five and a half years after it closed, with the project still forecast at $122m.

North Sydney Council had taken its architect to the Supreme Court over the redevelopment.

Have money at stake with Brewster Hjorth?

You paid them money
A card payment, deposit, gift card, prepaid booking, or something you paid for and did not receive. Find out which company took it, and what routes may apply →

They owe you money or property
An unpaid invoice, goods supplied, wages, a lease, a PPSR interest or another commercial claim. Find out which company owes you, and what routes may apply →

On 1 September, Brewster Hjorth Pty. Limited, ACN 002 513 153, resolved to wind up. Anthony Elkerton and Jessica Perri of Salea Advisory were appointed liquidators. ASIC published the notice on 2 September.

Twenty-five days from the reopening to the resolution.

Is Brewster Hjorth Architects in liquidation? The company on the notice is the corporate trustee of the Brewster Hjorth Unit Trust, and the practice trades under a business name held through that trust. The trustee company is in creditors' voluntary liquidation. The notice names the company, not the trust and not the business name, and says nothing about whether the practice continues. Its website was live on 2 September.

The company behind Brewster Hjorth Architects

Brewster Hjorth Pty. Limited was registered on 19 August 1982. It has carried three earlier names: Burawanga Pty Ltd, JBR Pty Limited and Jones Brewster Regan Pty Ltd. The practice says it was established in 1984.

The company itself has no ABN. The Brewster Hjorth Unit Trust carries ABN 52 912 230 391, active since April 2000, and Brewster Hjorth Pty. Limited is its trustee. The business name Brewster Hjorth Architects has been registered since December 1997. The NSW Architects Registration Board lists Lawrence Melocco as nominated architect for "Brewster Hjorth Pty. Limited ATF Brewster Hjorth Unit Trust". The firm's own site names him as a director alongside Ian Brewster, Andrew Hjorth and Maria Colella. The same register records Andrew Hjorth as non-practising this registration term.

What North Sydney Council's own papers record

August 2018. The council entered a design-services agreement for the pool redevelopment with "Brewster Hjorth Pty Ltd T/AS Brewster Hjorth Architects", per its 22 July 2024 business paper.

22 July 2024. That business paper sought approval "to instruct Council's legal representatives to commence legal proceedings" against the company. A dispute-resolution process had been commenced and, in the paper's words, the dispute "has been unable to be resolved". The council announced the next day that it had voted to commence proceedings for breach of contract in relation to design services. The legal advice is confidential. The council's public papers do not disclose the particulars of the alleged breach.

23 March 2026. The council's project report: "Legal proceedings between Council and Brewster Hjorth Architects, and between Icon and Council, are currently with the NSW Supreme Court." The same report keeps the project within its $122m forecast, puts the builder's revised contract sum at $93.6m, and records 834 variation claims and 2,183 requests for information across the project. Those are project-wide figures. None is attributed to the architect.

7 August 2026. The pool reopened, in its 90th anniversary year.

1 September 2026. The company resolved to wind up.

The notice gives no reason. Nothing in the council's papers or the notice connects the liquidation to the proceedings.

This was not a one-project practice

Commonwealth procurement records show design-services contracts to the trust for the Villawood immigration detention centre redevelopment between 2017 and 2020, and an Australian Federal Police project in 2007. NSW procurement records show a $406,148 Fire and Rescue NSW contract for Wentworthville Fire Station in January 2025. Each was awarded to the trust's ABN.

A second council, a second project

On 4 March 2026, in a statement attributed to Orange City Council and republished in full, the council said the budget for its Conservatorium and Planetarium had risen by $3.5m to an estimated $37.05m "as a result of design alterations to the plans originally provided by Brewster Hjorth Architects". The alterations, it said, responded to contractor requests for information "predominantly relating to structural design and how the original drawings were in some cases insufficient to deliver the actual works". The council said the timeline had been extended nine months, from August 2025 to what it called a new contract date of 30 June 2026. The council said there was no issue with the safety or longevity of the completed works.

The Central Western Daily reported the statement on 7 March and said the practice had been contacted for comment. No response was reported.

The Orange project is separate from North Sydney. Nothing in either record connects those project issues to the liquidation.

What remains unresolved

Whether the council's proceedings were still on foot on 1 September is not stated in any public record found. The next procedural step in that proceeding is not yet clear. What the liquidation means for the practice, its staff and its current projects is not stated in the notice. The council's public papers do not disclose the particulars of its claim.

Search the practice and you find a pool. Search the ACN and you find the liquidation.

Work with Brewster Hjorth Architects, or on a project it designed?

Brewster Hjorth Pty. Limited, the company behind the practice, is now in liquidation. Leave your work address and I'll flag this company as the process moves. You'll also get the resolved register every weekday morning. Free.

The welcome email asks which company brought you here. Name it and I'll send that company's entity file back to the same address.

Working on this one right now? Reply to any Open Register email and I'll send the entity file the same day.

Also in the register

Adviser Universe is in liquidation. It promoted and administered a registered fund.

Adviser Universe Pty Ltd, ACN 645 583 044, trading as iUniverse, resolved to wind up on 2 September, with Mitchell Ball and Gavin King of Mackay Goodwin appointed liquidators.

The company is named in the product disclosure statement of iUniverse, ARSN 671 592 304, a registered managed investment scheme, as promoter and administrator. The scheme's responsible entity is Equity Trustees Limited and its custodian is EQT Australia. The scheme's audited accounts to 30 June 2025 name Adviser Universe as investment manager and administrator, and record $2,350,120 in cash and no liabilities. The scheme is a separate legal structure from the company.

The PDS, issued 3 July 2025, says the responsible entity may terminate the promoter's and the administrator's appointments where either "enters into receivership, liquidation, ceases to conduct business, sells its business or is legally unable to operate". Whether the responsible entity has done so is not stated in any notice found.

Muswellbrook Chemist: three companies, one liquidator, and a shop that changed its sign

Muswellbrook Chemist Group Pty Ltd, ACN 642 427 003; Muswellbrook Chemist Pty Ltd, ACN 611 477 028; and Hunter Health Group Pty Ltd, ACN 613 608 165, each resolved to wind up on 2 September, with Daniel Frisken of O'Brien Palmer appointed liquidator of all three.

The legal names say Muswellbrook. The business names say Wentworth Point: Priceline Pharmacy Wentworth Point, Marina Square Pharmacy, Pharmacy Wentworth Point. Since November 2025 the Marina Square shop has traded as Direct Chemist Outlet under new management, according to the centre and to Priceline's own store locator. The name on the notice is no longer on the door. The business name Direct Chemist Outlet Wentworth Point is held by a different company, Wentworth Point Pharmacy Pty Ltd, ACN 683 416 042, which is not one of the three named in the 2 September notices.

Priceline is a brand. The liquidation notices name three companies; the current Direct Chemist Outlet business name is held by a fourth. Nothing on the register links the three beyond the liquidator, the date and the suburb.

Equity Red: one winding-up application, four home-building names

Equity Red Pty Ltd, ACN 647 679 196, formerly Value Homes Pty Ltd, is the subject of a winding-up application by WorkCover Queensland, filed 7 August and listed for 9:30am on 10 September in the Supreme Court of Queensland. Its registered business names are Ember Homes, Hello Welcome Homes, House Factory and Norwood Home Design. An application asks a court for an order. It is not a finding of insolvency.

That gap is the whole product. Get the register that separates them.

The Daily Register, 2 September 2026

The register in 60 seconds

ASIC published 109 notices covering 107 entities:

  • 44 newly published distress entries

  • 14 winding-up applications

  • 34 procedural filings on open matters

  • 5 members' voluntary liquidations

  • 10 existing matters that moved stage

A winding-up application asks a court for an order; it does not mean the company has been wound up. A members' voluntary liquidation is ordinarily a solvent process.

Court and calendar

These are applications, not findings of insolvency. Hearing details are from the notices and may change.

Government creditors brought 7 of the 14 applications published on 2 September: the Deputy Commissioner of Taxation four, the Workers Compensation Nominal Insurer two, WorkCover Queensland one.

Company

Applicant

Court

Hearing listed in notice

AVDIC Contracting Pty Ltd (ACN 670 447 873)

Deputy Commissioner of Taxation

Federal, Victoria

9:30AM, 11 September 2026

Equity Red Pty Ltd (ACN 647 679 196)

WorkCover Queensland

Supreme, Queensland

9:30AM, 10 September 2026

12 further applications are in the full register.

Sources and records

ASIC published notices dated 2 September 2026 provide the appointments, applications, hearing details and practitioners above. Company dates and former names are from the ASIC company register; the trust and its ABN dates are from the Australian Business Register; the business name from ASIC's business names register; the nominated-architect and practising-status records from the NSW Architects Registration Board. The North Sydney chronology is from the council's 22 July 2024 business paper, its 23 March 2026 project report and its project page. The Orange statement is attributed to Orange City Council as republished in full, with the Central Western Daily's 7 March report. Procurement facts are from Commonwealth and NSW procurement records. The iUniverse facts are from the scheme's PDS of 3 July 2025 and its audited report to 30 June 2025. The Wentworth Point shop's change is from the centre's own site and Priceline's store locator.

Applicant counts are findings of The Open Register's captured ASIC-notice corpus, which begins in January 2025, not audited universe totals.

Get the next resolved register

One of 107.

The practice was public. The company behind it was three registers away. ASIC published 109 notices covering 107 entities on 2 September. Brewster Hjorth Pty. Limited was one of them.

Get tomorrow's resolved register by email: legal names and ACNs, the identifying names behind them, applicants, court dates, and the companies a brand search can send you past.

Know someone on a Brewster Hjorth project? The company behind the practice is now in liquidation. Forward them this one.

Recommended for you

View all
caret-right