Creditors were due to decide WMG Holdings Co's future at 11am on 3 September. The Federal Court decided it on 2 September.

On that day the court, sitting in Victoria, ordered WMG Holdings Co Pty Ltd, ACN 631 286 238, to be wound up and appointed Glenn Spooner of SSB Advisory liquidator. ASIC published the notice on 3 September.

For creditors the process changed overnight. Manuel Hanna's administration ended and Glenn Spooner's liquidation began before the meeting at which they were due to choose between executing a deed of company arrangement, ending the administration or winding the company up. Proofs and proxies had been due by noon on 2 September. The court imposed a winding-up outcome before creditors reached the meeting at which they were due to choose among those options.

This is a follow-up to the 11 August Daily, Western United lost its A-League place. The company behind it was wound up the next day, which mapped the four WMG names and where each stood. One has moved.

What changed

  • 6 August 2026. The company appointed Manuel Hanna of Romanis Cant as voluntary administrator.

  • 18 August. ASIC published a notice re-listing the winding-up application brought by Sava Engineering Pty Ltd (in liquidation), filed 27 May 2026, for hearing at 9:30am on 4 September, Federal Court proceeding VID548/2026.

  • 26 August. ASIC published notice of the second meeting of creditors, set for 11am on 3 September, to receive the administrator's report and choose between executing a deed, ending the administration or winding the company up.

  • 2 September. The court ordered the company wound up. Under the Corporations Act an administration ends when the court orders that the company be wound up, so the order ended the administration before the 3 September meeting at which creditors were due to choose its outcome.

The notice of the order does not state on whose application it was made. Sava Engineering's application remained listed for hearing: the Federal Court's Victoria daily list for 4 September carried VID548/2026, Sava Engineering Pty Limited v WMG Holdings Co Pty Ltd, in the corporations list, after the company had already been ordered wound up.

What WMG Holdings Co was

The 11 August edition could establish only that WMG Holdings Co was a separate WMG entity in administration. A Federal Court judgment says more. In Koulouris v Sourasis (Confidentiality Application) [2025] FCA 452, delivered on 2 May 2025, the schedule of parties names WMG Holdings Co Pty Ltd, ACN 631 286 238, as ninth defendant, and Justice Derrington recorded that two affidavits of Jason Sourasis "depose to the following relevant matters: (a) the ninth defendant (WMG Holdings), which owns the licence for the A-League team Western Melbourne Football Club, has entered into a Public Private Partnership with the Wyndham City Council for the development of a soccer stadium, training facilities and residential and retail lots at a substantial site in Sayers Road, Tarneit". Those are matters deposed to in affidavits and recited by the court, not findings.

The football company is a different entity. When WMG Football Club Ltd, ACN 631 204 003, was placed in liquidation in August 2025, the Australian Professional Leagues described it as "the owner and operator of Western United Football Club". On that evidence one company held the licence and the stadium partnership; another owned and operated the club.

The 2025 proceedings

In March 2025 the Deputy Commissioner of Taxation applied to wind up WMG Holdings Co and WMG Football Club Ltd in one Federal Court proceeding, VID340/2025. The ABC reported on 29 August 2025 that the court had ordered "Western United Football Club, WMG Holdings and three other companies owned by director Jason Sourasis" wound up, and that the orders were stayed pending a review. On 9 January 2026 Western United announced that all proceedings involving Western Melbourne Group and the football club had been dismissed after a settlement with the Tax Office, which AAP reported at $15.5 million.

The football company was wound up on a different creditor's application on 11 August 2026, with Jason Stone of PKF as liquidator. WMG Holdings Co followed three weeks later, under a different liquidator.

Where the WMG companies now stand

Company

ACN

Position on the register

WMG Football Club Ltd

631 204 003

Wound up by Federal Court order, 11 August 2026; liquidator Jason Stone, PKF. Described by the APL as Western United's owner and operator

WMG Holdings Co Pty Ltd

631 286 238

Wound up by Federal Court order, 2 September 2026; liquidator Glenn Spooner, SSB Advisory. Administration of 6 August ended by the order

WMG Stadium Pty Ltd

633 281 722

Winding-up application by Urbis Ltd, August 2025; no appointment notice published

WMG Football Pty Ltd

631 170 753

Registered January 2019; no insolvency notice published

Nothing on the register establishes ownership or control between the four companies; the boundary drawn in the 11 August edition stands.

What remains unresolved

On which application the 2 September order was made is not stated in the notice. What the court did with Sava Engineering's application on 4 September, listed after the company had already been wound up, is not yet published. Whether the 29 August 2025 orders the ABC reported named this company is not established from a court record. Whether the 3 September meeting was held in any form is not published. What the order means for the Wyndham partnership described in the affidavits, after the council's 11 August termination, is not stated in any notice.

Start with the 11 August reconstruction for the football company and the stadium precinct. The full 3 September register, all 103 entities, is here. Get the next resolved register by email.

Recommended for you

View all
caret-right